A Successful WLAM Foundation Reception

This year's WLAM Foundation Reception for Education and Community Leadership was held on March 23rd at Great Lakes Culinary Center in Southfield.  Entertainment was provided by Z. Kay Fitzpatrick (WLAMF Trustee) and Dr. David Bauer.
(Pictures below)

We recognized our 2016 scholarship awardees.  The competitive scholarships were awarded to students who demonstrated leadership on women's issues.  Profiles of the women law students can be found here.

(From left: Michelle Lenning, Janieasha Freelove-Sewell, Katila Howard, Jennifer Gallardo, Megan Baxter, Katherine Beres, April McKie, Alexis Bailey)

(General Motors Scholarship Awardees)

(WLAMF President Dawn Van Hoek with Awardee Michelle Lenning)

This year Portia L. Roberson spoke about her experiences and lessons throughout her career, including her current position as City of Detroit Group Executive of Human Rights and Ethics.

(Dawn Van Hoek with speaker Portia L. Roberson)

The WLAM Foundation's scholarship program has awarded 230 law students with over $560,000 to support their law school educations.  Specially named awards exist for scholarships supported by large and ongoing donations from General Motors and Dickinson Wright Women's Network, and for a scholarship named for former WLAMF Treasurer Kimberly M. Cahill.  More information on our Dean's List contributors and how can donate, can be found here.

(WLAMF Board Member Kristen Pursley with Dean's List Summa Cum Laude Peggy Pitt)

We would also like to thank our generous sponsors of the event: Kenneth M. Bernard, CFA, Bernard Wealth Management Corp.; Nancy Glen and Ralph McDowell; and Talarico & Associates, P.C.

(Ken Bernard (Bernard Wealth Management) and Wife Monica Brockmeyer (Wayne State University Associate Provost for Student Success)

(WLAMF Board Member and Reception Sponsor Nancy Glen
with Awardee Roeiah Epps and her son Zeke)